Ever Tried to Hug a Porcupine?

Most of you would never even think of hugging a porcupine. I would go even further to say that most of you never even considered that a porcupine would need a hug. We are all familiar with the natural defenses that God gave a porcupine for protection, but how does it receive love and affection?

I must admit that I don’t know the answer to this question, but the next time the Discovery Channel or Animal Planet does a special on porcupines, I might just have to watch. The truth is, I feel like a porcupine most days. I feel like due to the extreme amount of hurt I have endured in my lifetime has transformed me into a porcupine by necessity. In order to survive, I will not allow anyone to get close enough to hurt me, or else, I will make sure they don’t repeat the process. This is really no way to live.

My earliest memories of meeting Jesus were about age 2 or 3. He is a real person. I can remember crying and praying and feeling him enter my room and comfort me. I can remember being sick and being taught to call on the elders of the church for prayer. I called my pastor when I was about 5 years old and he came by my Grandmother’s house just to pray for me. I can remember changing schools in second grade and not knowing anybody. I would walk the playground at recess, look up at the sky, and talk to God. I never felt alone. I was 7 when I received the Holy Ghost and I remember being so happy that he now lived in my heart.

If you’ve read my earlier blogs, you know I have a heart problem. Call it unforgiveness or mistrust, either way, I had become a porcupine. I think it helps me to stay sensitive to the needs of others when I don’t allow the hurt to overcome me. This weekend, though, I really wanted to become a porcupine permanently.

You know how they talk about the people and events in your lifetime that shape who you are? I had one of those. In the past, this event would had pushed me towards the bitter, sarcastic way of life. Thankfully I was able to attend Ladies Conference this year and the main theme was about trusting God, no matter what happens. Praising Him in good and bad times. Not allowing circumstances to affect our relationship with Him. Today I am clinging to the verse the speaker quoted at conference. ‘And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.’ Romans 8:28.

What I love about God is that He knows that even porcupines need love. He loves us unconditionally. As followers of Christ, this has got to be our mission as well. There are hurting people all around us that put up walls of protection as a defense, but what they really need is the unconditional love of a Savior and from His followers.

My mind immediately went to the song, ‘He Looked Beyond My Faults and Saw My Need’. In my journey in search of healing, I must remind myself of this amazing love and sacrifice of a Savior and how important it is that we share this message with others. I have also found that the more I look outside myself, the less I hurt inside. My prayer is that I will transform from my current porcupine status into a Spiritual ‘Teddy Bear’ passing out hugs and comfort to all who are in need. Most of all, I want to introduce everyone I know to my friend, Jesus, because He has been my source of strength and comfort for as long as I can remember. He wasn’t afraid to hug a porcupine like me!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

